Happy 100 Vintage Wonderlust!!!!!

This is my 100th post!! Time flies when you are having fun, and I still have tons of ideas to write about.  Have no fear, I’m just getting warmed up with my blog.  I appreciate all of the viewers and would like to remind you to please like the posts you enjoy most so I can see what my audience desires!!  Thank you for all of your support and please, keep coming back for more!! I update several times a week.

Happy 100!!

NYC in 1913, 100 years ago!

Los Angeles 1913

San Francisco 1913

Newspapers from 1913

Alabama Citizen newspaper 1913

Facts from 1913:

  • Darktown Follies opens in Harlem and helps to make Harlem a black cultural center.
  • Billboard magazine publishes a list of the most popular vaudeville  songs. It’s the predecessor to their trademark charts.
  • First crossword puzzle appears in the New York World. See Crossword  Puzzle Guide

Economics

Federal spending:   $0.72  billion Consumer Price Index:   9.9 Unemployment:   4.3% Cost of a first-class  stamp:   $0.02
Read more:  Top News Stories from 1913 | Infoplease.com http://www.infoplease.com/year/1913.html#ixzz2ZVxCjo5u

For the first time, American motorists can drive coast-to-coast via the Lincoln Highway, which goes from New York’s Time Square to Lincoln Park in San Francisco, Calif.

The average house cost $5,935 Equivalent today: $131,171

The average car cost $600 Equivalent today: $13,261

The average wage was $585 Equivalent today: $12,929
Here are some ads from 1913
Women’s fashion in 1913:
Random 1913 Photos:
Thanks again for the support and keep coming back!!!
About vintagewanderlust33

I'm a 34 yo with a dusty soul. I love everything old! I hope to find new treasures through networking as I'm always on the hunt for something that has a hint of nostalgia. View all posts by vintagewanderlust33

Leave a Reply

