What is this Film Noir you ask? I had the same question!

As a fan of early cinema from early “talkies” to mid to late 30’s, I was unaware of Film Noir.  By definition it means: shadowy, pessimistic movie: a cinematic genre popular in the 1940s and 1950s, often filmed in urban settings with extensive use of shadows, cynical in outlook, and featuring antiheroes. Between the Great Depression and the start of the Cold War, Hollywood went noir, reflecting the worldly, weary, wised-up under current of midcentury America.

That sounds interesting to me!! This is also when I learned about Edward G. Robinson.  He is an AMAZING and unique actor and a great “go to” for finding a good film noir movie.

I knew about EGR long before I became a fan of B/W films, I knew him from Bugs Bunny mimicking him and his very unique style of speaking!

Here are my suggestions for EGR beginners!

Here is a great EGR movie with Orson Wells and Loretta Young!! The Stranger

I have seen every movie I suggest so feel free to ask questions or give me suggestions of your own.  These are great movies and I promise if you were not a fan of EGR before or Film Noir, you will be now!!  Have fun vintage movie lovers!!!

About vintagewanderlust33

I'm a 34 yo with a dusty soul. I love everything old! I hope to find new treasures through networking as I'm always on the hunt for something that has a hint of nostalgia. View all posts by vintagewanderlust33

One response to “What is this Film Noir you ask? I had the same question!

Leave a Reply

