Getting a clear view of the past

It never ceases to amaze me the clarity of many of the wonderful pictures being scanned in and distributed online for all to see.  It really gives you the opportunity to see how life was lived from day to day, outside of the usual posed for pictures.

Here is a gem I found of the lower East side of New York 1908:

Delancey Street

You can find a whole new collection recently added to the New York department of records website here: http://nycma.lunaimaging.com/luna/servlet/browseByCategory 

All of the pictures in this post are in New York.  I know I tend to be partial to Southern California as that is where I am from and still live today.  When I look at old pictures I try to take it all in, the architectures, the fashions, the cars or lack there of, the mentality or mind states of everyone, the conditions of the city.  It is amazing how far we have come in really a short amount of time. 

 

About vintagewanderlust33

I'm a 34 yo with a dusty soul. I love everything old! I hope to find new treasures through networking as I'm always on the hunt for something that has a hint of nostalgia. View all posts by vintagewanderlust33

Leave a Reply

