I looooove Lucy!!!!

I looooooove Lucy!!!!

When I was a young child something that I shared with my mother and grandmother is that we loved to watch I love Lucy.  She was a wild woman who would do anything to make her audience laugh.  As an adult I can honestly say Lucy’s character was very catty, a tad bitchy, especially to her good friend Ethel, but still a good wife and mother.  I still enjoy watching I Love Lucy episodes to this day with my daughter!

Lucille Ball was quite the actress and comedian well outside of her part in the I Love Lucy show.  Lucille Desiree Ball was born on April 6, 1911 in Jamestown, New York.  Her career started in 1933 when she appeared in The Bowery and 28 other films by 1936 including Moulin Rouge and The Three Musketeers before her name started to appear in the credits.  Not many people know but Lucille Ball was one of the original Follies Girls aka Ziegfeld Follies.  They were in a series of Broadway shows but were known for the many beautiful girls in very risqué costumes!

Check this out, what a lineup!!

I love Lucy most when she is playing something that is outside of her I love Lucy shows.  She is a great actress and I adore her opposite Bob Hope.

I do have a movie suggestion, a must see of early Lucille Ball films and that would be “Having a Wonderful Time” (1938) starting Ginger Rogers.  Lucy plays a college crazy woman called, “screwball”.  It’s quit fitting for Lucy and she is her usual wild self.  I also want to add that although she is known for her wild red hair, she has also been a blonde and a brunette.

Lucy is obviously beautiful and known for her comedy, but I have seen her in a serious roll, much later in her career, which left me speechless.  She was so incredibly talented and diverse.  She stared in a TV movie in 1985 called Stone Pillow.  In this movie she plays a homeless woman who befriends a young social worker.  Another Lucy must see.

Stone Pillow (1985) Poster

I hope you enjoyed my tribute to Lucille Ball!

About vintagewanderlust33

I'm a 34 yo with a dusty soul. I love everything old! I hope to find new treasures through networking as I'm always on the hunt for something that has a hint of nostalgia. View all posts by vintagewanderlust33

Leave a Reply

